NCFE Level 5 Diploma in Education and Training (DET)

Course duration: 1 year full time, 2 years part time.
Assessment: centre-devised assessment, such as the assessment methods included as sample assessment activities, making use of evidence drawn from teaching practice.
Awarding body: NCFE
Course fees: £6,000 per year for full time, £4,500 for part time

Entry Requirements

  • Level 3 Certificate in Education and Training¬†(QCF).
  • A GCE Advanced level profile which demonstrates strong performance in a relevant subject or an adequate performance in more than one GCE subject. This profile is likely to be supported by GCSE grades at A* to C
  • Other Ofqual approved related level 4 qualifications / UK NARIC equivalent
  • An Access to Higher Education Certificate awarded by an approved further education institution
  • Related work experience.
  • For students whose first language is not English, the minimum language requirement assessed at Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) level B2, equivalent to 5.5-6.5 on the International English Language Testing System (IELTS) framework, or equivalent.

Mature learners may present a more varied profile of achievement that is likely to include extensive work experience (paid and/or unpaid) and/or achievement of a range of professional qualifications in their work sector.

Aims and objectives of this qualification

This qualification prepares trainee teachers to teach in a range of contexts. There is a significant practice requirement as this qualification will assess, and provide evidence of, competence when undertaking teaching and/or training responsibilities.

It can meet the needs of a range of trainee teachers, including:

  • individuals who are not currently teaching and training but who can meet the practice requirements, including the observed and assessed practice requirements, of the qualification
  • individuals who are currently teaching and training (including those who have just begun teaching and training) who can meet the practice requirements, including the observed and assessed practice requirements, of the qualification
  • individuals who are currently working as assessors and who wish to achieve a teaching qualification.

The objective of the qualification is to confirm occupational competence in a teaching role within the workplace.

Modules Structure

The learner will need to meet the requirements outlined in the table below before NCFE can award the qualification, i.e. achieve the appropriate mandatory and optional units, as well as satisfactorily complete teaching practice.

The Module structure is as follows:
Minimum number of credits that must be achieved 120
Teaching practice hours 100

Unit reference number Mandatory units Credit value Guided learning hours
Unit 1 Teaching, learning and assessment in education and training 20 65
Unit 2 Developing teaching, learning and assessment in education and training 20 65
Unit 3 Theories, principles and models in education and training 20 60
Unit 4 Wider professional practice and development in education and training 15 50
Unit 6 Action research 15 50
Unit 16 Inclusive practice 15 50
Unit 24 Teaching in a specialist area 15 50

Practice requirement

The practice component is a vital aspect of high-quality initial teacher training. There is a requirement for a minimum of 100 hours of practice and a requirement to evidence working with groups of learners to achieve this qualification.

Progression opportunities

Students who achieve this qualification could progress to: Bachelor of Arts (BA) or Bachelor of Science (BSc) with Qualified Teacher Status (QTS)

Exemption Policies

There is no transfer of practice, including observed and assessed practice, from a previously achieved Level 3 Award in Education and Training (QCF).Trainees who have achieved the Level 4 Certificate in Education and Training (QCF) can transfer only 20 hours of practice and two hours of observed and assessed practice towards the practice requirements for Unit 2: Teaching, Learning and Assessment in Education and Training, the Level 4 unit in the Level 5 Diploma in Education and Training (QCF). Students that have completed similar qualifications may be entitled to exemptions under the Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) scheme. Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) is a method of assessment (leading to the award of credit) that considers whether a learner can demonstrate that they can meet the assessment requirements for a unit through knowledge, understanding or skills they already possess. Provided that the assessment requirements of a given unit or qualification have been met, the use of RPL is acceptable for accrediting a unit, units or a whole qualification. Evidence of learning must be valid and reliable.